International Commission of Control and Supervision

One of the provisions of the Paris Accords of 1973 was formation of a four-nation International Commission of Control and Supervision (ICCS). It replaced the International Control Commission (ICC), a three-country body established by the Geneva Conference of 1954. The ICC was composed of Canada, India, and Poland. The Paris Accords provided for those three nations to remain on the new ICCS, but India declined and was replaced by Indonesia. Hungary became the fourth member. Canada withdrew in August 1973 when she realized the North Vietnamese were still focused on taking over South Vietnam. Iran then became the fourth member. The ICCS headquarters were located near Saigon at Tan Son Nhut Air Base. It had no power and became the butt of jokes among the Americans, South Vietnamese, and North Vietnamese vying for control in Southeast Asia.