National Leadership Council

Between the assassination of Ngo Dinh Diem in November 1963 and the rise of the ruling junta of Nguyen Cao Ky in June 1965, South Vietnam had experienced wave after wave of political instability. On June 12, 1965, Generals Nguyen Van Thieu, Nguyen Cao Ky, and Nguyen Huu Co declared the establishment of a National Leadership Council to govern the Republic of Vietnam. The three military leaders consequently expanded the National Leadership Council to ten members and elected Nguyen Cao Ky as chief executive of the council. Ky ultimately used his position as head of the council to become the new premier of the Republic of Vietnam. The National Leadership Council functioned until the standard elections in 1967, when Nguyen Van Thieu became the new president of the Republic of Vietnam.

Vietnam War Writers