South Vietnam
Officially the Republic of Vietnam (RVN)

South Vietnam, officially the Republic of Vietnam (RVN), was an anti-communist led country that existed from 1954 to 1975 in the territory of Vietnam that lay south of the 17th parallel while North Vietnam was situated to the north of the 17th parallel. The Republic was proclaimed in Saigon by Ngo Dinh Diem on October 22, 1955, after he deposed Emperor Bao Dai. Founding of South Vietnam was based on the support of the United States. But there is debate about how closely South Vietnam was linked to the United States, which was a strong supporter of the country. Following American troop withdrawal from the Vietnam War South Vietnam government continued fighting the Viet Cong and North Vietnamese. It finally surrendered to North Vietnam and the National Liberation Front (NLF) on April 30, 1975. After that, the NLF took power and established the Provisional Revolutionary Government of the Republic of South Vietnam until the unified Socialist Republic of Vietnam was inaugurated on July 2, 1976.